• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Shaggy, Freddie McGregor & Fresh Prince Of Bel Air Actress Added To 27th IRAWMA At Apollo Threatre On May 4, 2008, New York

Spread the love

Reggae superstar Shaggy; international Reggae Ambassador Freddie McGregor and actress Janet Hubert who played on the “Fresh Prince of Bel Air”, will each walk the Red Carpet and be among the participants on stage at the prestigious 27th Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA), at the World-Famous Apollo Theater, on Sunday, May 4, 2008 . The IRAWMA Red Carpet arrival starts at 5:00pm . The VIP reception begins at 6:00pm, and the Awards ceremony starts at 7:00 pm .

Grammy-winner Shaggy, will walk the Red Carpet and grace the stage. His latest recording “Intoxication” is nominated for Best Album/CD. He’s also up for the Best Male DJ/Rapper, and his song “Church Heathen” is nominated for Best Song and Best Music Video categories.

Internationally acclaimed, Grammy-nominated singer, songwriter, and producer Freddie McGregor will grace the Apollo stage for another legendary performance. He is one of Reggae’s most soulful singers, his extensive music career spans more than 40 years. From ska to rock steady, roots-reggae to lover’s rock, dancehall to dub-Freddie McGregor has covered them all.

Best known as “Vivian Banks” from the “Fresh Prince of Bel Air”, Janet Hubert, also appeared on Broadway in the original cast of “Cats”, Duke Ellington’s “Sophisticated Ladies” among others. Her television credits include, “The Bernie Mac Show”, “Friends”, “NYPD Blue”, “The Jamie Fox Show”, and “One Life to Live”, to name a few. She will be one of the IRAWMA presenters.

According to IRAWMA’s president Ephraim Martin the list of performers and presenters include : Beenie Man, Ky-Mani Marley, Shaggy, Doug E. Fresh, Janet Hubert, Tarrus Riley, Freddie McGregor, Etana, Machel Montano, Billy Ocean, Miss Jamaica 2007, Buju Banton, Macka Diamond, Lady G, Claudelle Clarke, Tony Rebel, Lady Ann, Dean Fraser, Winsome Benjamin, D’Angel, Queen Ifrika, Mutabaruka, Cecile, Junior Reid, Shelia Hylton, Dwight Pickney and a Soca mix featuring Hot 97FM D. Life, Jadine and other top Calypso/Soca nominee.

International singer Billy Ocean(”Caribbean Queen”), Gospel artist Claudelle Clarke, pioneering recording engineer Errol Brown(Bob Marley) and UK Rock Steady crooner Winston Francis(”California Dreamin”) will be inducted into the IRAWMA Hall of Fame. The IRAWMA will be awarded in several special categories. Ziggy Marley and Jay Z will receive the Marcus Garvey Humanitarian Award for their charitable efforts. The Producer’s “Respect” Award will go to Kymani Marley. Awards of Appreciation will be given to: Herman Hall, publisher of Everybody’s Magazine, Songstress Winsome Benjamin and Karl Rodney, publisher of Carib News.

Rate this post

Spread the love
Written by
Staff Writer
View all articles
Cannot call API for app 591315618393932 on behalf of user 10157562959428589
Written by Staff Writer