Institute Of Caribbean Studies Presents: 16Th Annual Caribbean American Heritage Awards Gala

The CARAH Awards are the premiere recognition awards in the Caribbean American community. The 2009 Gala is chaired by Congresswoman Donna Christensen (D-USVI) and Congresswoman Yvette Clarke (D-NY) and held under the patronage of the Caribbean Diplomatic corps, and honors and celebrates individuals of Caribbean heritage who have been standard bearers of excellence, and who have made positive contributions to the American and international landscape. 

Born on the island of Dominica and raised on the island of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands emerges the brilliant and tenacious Lynton Scotland, an experienced engineer and business professional in the energy and chemical industries. Viewed by many as an upcoming ‘star power,’ his knack for success gained him the prominent position as Vice President Operational Excellence with responsibility for the “FORNRG” (Focus On ROIC @ NRG) initiative and for the Corporate Project Management Office. FORNRG is the flagship initiative of NRG which generates savings in excess of $300 million annually to the company. Prior to this appointment he served as Director of Procurement. He led efforts to improve the Procure-to-Pay process and the utilization of e-procurement sourcing methodologies throughout the company. This position was preceded by his tenure at Hercules Incorporated, where he served as Global Strategic Procurement Director, with the responsibility for worldwide procurement of Hydrocarbon products and Energy. He was a member of the management team of the Fiber Visions and Pinova divisions of Hercules Incorporated.

Mr. Scotland is a member of the distinguished Executive Leadership Council, an organization representing the most senior African American executives in Fortune 500 companies and serves on the board of the Executive Leadership Foundation. He is a member of the board of trustees at the University of Dayton and a member of the School of Engineering Advisory Council. He also serves on the board of OIC International, the organization founded by late civil rights leader Reverend Dr. Leon H. Sullivan. Mr. Scotland also serves as chairman of the board of Urban Promise Wilmington, an organization geared towards youth education and leadership development in the urban community of Wilmington, Delaware.

Other Honorees include : Hon. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, Member, Maryland House of Delegates; Willard Wigan MBE, MicroSculptor and ‘Icon of the Impossible’; Bert Mitchell, CEO, Bert Smith & Co.; Dr. Anthony Kalloo, Chief of Gastroenterology at Johns Hopkins Hospital and Alison Hinds, Soca Diva.

The Gala will be co-hosted by John Blake, Host, Caribbean Experience, WHUR FM 96.3 and Maureen Bunyan, Anchor, ABC TV7.

Past keynote speakers and honorees include : Prime Minister Owen Arthur of Barbados; Black Enterprise publisher Earl Graves, legendary actress Cicely Tyson; Hon. Eric Holder, US Attorney General; Dr. Cato Laurencin, Vice President, University of Connecticut Hospital; and Dr. Velma Scantlebury, Kidney Transplant Surgeon.