• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Fans are voting all around the world to select IRAWMA’s best 2013/14

Spread the love

The nominees for the 2013/14, 33rd Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) were officially revealed on Florida’s Hot 105 FM radio with Tanto Irie, and on the popular OnStage TV with Winford Williams, along with Miss Universe Jamaica 2014 finalists and Reggae Artiste Assassin, out of Jamaica last Saturday night. Members of the general public can vote right now at www.irawma.com

Some 200 (194) reggae and world music entertainers, groups and others from the industry are nominated. The winners will be announced at the star-studded 33rd annual IRAWMA, at the prestigious Coral Springs Center for the Arts, 2855 Coral Springs Drive, in Coral Springs, Florida, on Saturday, October 4th, 2014. The Red Carpet arrival and reception starts at 7:30pm and the Awards Showcase and party begin at 9:00pm.

At the top of the list of nominees are Sean Paul, Chronixx and Major Lazer, each with four nods. Bunja Garlin, Mavado, Busy Signal, Shaggy and Calypso Rose, received three nominations, each. Several of the other nominees gained two nods.

For the Bob Marley Award for Entertainer of the Year, Jimmy Cliff, Chronixx, Tessanne Chin, Sean Paul and Soja are vying for the gold statue. The complete list of nominees, are available for the general public to vote at www.irawma.com, and to get special promotional tickets before the performers are announced.

The ticket prices, with fees included are as follows: VIP Platinum $108.12, the promo price   (using code “reggae”) is $75.26; VIP Gold $76.32, the promo price $54.06, and for General admission the price is $55.12, while the promo price is $37.10. Promotion tickets are also available @ www.coralspringscenterforthearts.com, using the code “reggae”. You may call 877/9-REGGAE (973-4423) for all information pertaining to the 33rd IRAWMA.    

The 2014 Lifetime/Hall of Fame recipients will be Bobby Aitkens- Reggae Legend, Dr. Audley Rollens- Veteran Jamaican Entertainer and Mykel “Grammy” Rose- formerly of Black Uhuru.

Martin’s International-IRAWMA Award of Honor will be presented to St. Vincent Multi-Platinum Singer Kevin Lyttle, who will also co-host the Awards ceremony, Reggae Singers Gyptian and  Sanchez, and Radio Disc Jockey Tanto Irie. South Florida-based Horace Forbes will be awarded for his more than 60 years of contributions to the music industry.

Music fans worldwide now have the final say in the selection of the winners by submitting their votes online or through the mail. All mail-in ballots should be post dated no later than September 20, 2014, which is the official deadline for voting. Mail-in ballots deadline from outside the United States is September 10th, 2014. Criteria! Voters should take into consideration the social relevance of materials, originality, sales, local/national/international performances, quality of performances, and stage appearances. In voting it is okay to omit categories you are not knowledgeable in.

The Coral Springs Marriott Golf Club and Convention Center is the official hotel for the 33rd IRAWMA. Please click here https://resweb.passkey.com/go/208104c7 . or l 954.753.5598 to get the IRAWMA special rate. 

Rate this post

Spread the love
Written by
View all articles
Cannot call API for app 591315618393932 on behalf of user 10157562959428589
Written by jamarch