• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Arnold Jackson, Associate Director For Decennial Census At The US Census Bureau Will Be Among The Special Guests At The 16Th Annual Caribbean American Heritage Awards Gala, November 13, 2009, Washington, D.C

Spread the love

The CARAH Awards are the premiere recognition awards in the Caribbean American community. The 2009 Gala is chaired by Congresswoman Donna Christensen (D-USVI) and Congresswoman Yvette Clarke (D-NY) and held under the patronage of the Caribbean Diplomatic corps, and honors and celebrates individuals of Caribbean heritage who have been standard bearers of excellence, and who have made positive contributions to the American and international landscape. 

Mr. Arnold Jackson provides executive leadership for all decennial census and related programs and is principal adviser to the executive staff, providing overall direction, planning and coordination for all decennial census operations. As the Chief Operating Officer for the Decennial Census, he works closely with the six decennial division chiefs and two program office chiefs to provide overall direction for reengineering the 2010 Census. He oversees the formulation of the budget and directs the administration of all decennial census and geographic support funds.
Mr. Jackson is a winner of a Hammer Award for leading the team that launched the Census Bureau Web site in the mid-1990s. The Hammer Award is presented to teams of federal employees who have made significant contributions in support of reinventing government principles. Mr. Jackson is a graduate of Hampton University, Harvard University Business School and the Federal Executive Institute.

The 2009 CARAH Honorees are: Hon. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, Member, Maryland House of Delegates; Willard Wigan MBE, MicroSculptor and ‘Icon of the Impossible’; George Willie, CPA, CGFM, Managing Partner, Bert Smith & Co.; Dr. Anthony Nicholas Kalloo, Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Lynton Scotland, VP Operational Excellence, NRG Energy and Alison Hinds, Soca Diva.

The Gala will be co-hosted by John Blake, Host, Caribbean Experience, WHUR FM 96.3 and Maureen Bunyan, Anchor, ABC TV7.

Past keynote speakers and honorees include : Prime Minister Owen Arthur of Barbados; Black Enterprise publisher Earl Graves, legendary actress Cicely Tyson; Hon. Eric Holder, US Attorney General; Dr. Cato Laurencin, Vice President, University of Connecticut Hospital; and Dr. Velma Scantlebury, Kidney Transplant Surgeon.

Spread the love
Written by
Staff Writer
View all articles
Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .
Written by Staff Writer