Honorees Named For 18th Annual Caribbean American Heritage Awards Gala

A skillful dancer and choreographer, a world acclaimed author, an international media strategist, and an innovative physicist. Those are among the individuals that will be honored by the Institute of Caribbean Studies (ICS) at the 18th Annual Caribbean American Heritage (CARAH) Awards Gala on November 11, 2011. The elegant affair recognizes individuals of Caribbean descent of accomplished and emerging stature in their field of expertise or who have made outstanding contributions to the community.
The CARAH Awards celebrates excellence in literature, science and technology, community service and corporate leadership. Among the honorees are a renowned author, award-winning choreographer, internationally recognized media strategist, prominent scientist, and accomplished technology specialist.
Rev. Neville Callam is a dynamic and inspirational leader who serves as the General Secretary of the Baptist World Alliance. The Alliance represents over 47 million Baptists in 200 countries. Rev. Callam’s Baptist roots also inspired his work in the media. He created and ran The Breath of Change (TBC FM), a religious radio station, and was a founding director of the National Religious Media Company of Jamaica, the operator of LOVE FM and LOVE TV. He has also served as Chairman of the Board of the Public Broadcasting Corporation of Jamaica. Rev. Callam will receive the Luminary Award.
Maryse Condé of Guadeloupe has garnered worldwide acclaim for her novels which intertwine history with important social justice issues such as race, gender, and bias. Her novels trace the relationships between African peoples and the Diaspora, especially the Caribbean. She will be presented the Award for Excellence in Literature.
Garth Fagan is the award-winning choreographer of Garth Fagan Dance. His awe-inspiring and breathtaking choreography for The Lion King earned him the 1998 Tony Award. He has earned numerous recognitions for his skillful movements and intricate knowledge of human form through dance. These include the 2000 Laurence Olivier Award, 2001 Ovaon Award, and the 2004 Helpmann Award for his work on Broadway. Fagan will receive the Marcus Garvey Lifetime Achievement Award.
Dr. Arlie Petters has conducted instrumental research in physics and mathematics that revolutionized the field of astronomy. Dr. Petters’ was the first to develop the mathematical theory of gravitational lensing, which brought powerful methods from pure mathematics to bear on astronomy. He was the first professor at Duke University to hold a triple appointment with mathematics, physics and business. Proud of his Belizean heritage, Dr. Petters created the Petters Research Institute aimed at developing the Belizean human capital in the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields. He will be presented the Award for Excellence in Science and Technology.
Larry Quinlan is the Chief Information Officer for Deloitte LLP, a professional services organization. His expertise has helped the company develop and implement a globally recognized strategy to address technology use, application, infrastructure and execution. He serves on the US Executive Committee and chairs the global CIO Council. He will receive the Award for Outstanding Contribution to Corporate America.
Janet Rollé is the executive vice president and chief marketing office for CNN.Rolle oversee the promotion and marketing of CNN’s multiple networks and services and is responsible for brand strategy, consumer and trade communication, audience development, and sales communications supporting CNN brands and programming. She will be awarded the Trailblazer Award.
The Caribbean American Heritage (CARAH) Awards aims to raise the profile of Caribbean Americans who have been successful in their fields or are emerging as ‘next generation’ leaders. Dr. Claire Nelson, ICS Founder and President, described the CARAH Awards as a testament to Caribbean Americans continued contributions to the United States.
“ICS started this event 18 years ago in an effort to highlight to the American and Diaspora community the caliber of individuals that claimed Caribbean American ancestry and to provide a forum for honoring and recognizing their contributions to the public,” said Dr. Nelson. Over the years, well known individuals such as Susan Taylor, former editor-in-chief of Essence magazine, Rita Marley, reggae matriarch and philanthropist, and Earl Graves Sr., publisher of Black Enterprise, have received a CARAH Award.   Friends of the Caribbean honored have included Congresswoman Barbara Lee, Randall Robinson, and the Hon. Andrew Young.