International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA) – Saturday, May 5th, 2007, New York

As IRAWMA Returns to World Famous Apollo Theater- Sat, May 5th!

KINGSTON, JAMAICA – FEB 20, 2007 – The 26th Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) by Martin’s International and Associates returns to Harlem’s World Famous Apollo Theater, 253 West 125 Street, in New York City on Saturday, May 5th, commencing at 8:00 pm for general admission, 7:00 pm for VIP ticket holders, and 6:00 pm for the nominees, performers, sponsors and other participants to walk the red carpet.

The official announcement and the releasing of the nominees were made on Tuesday, February 20th at a Press Conference, held at the Pegasus Hotel, in Kingston, Jamaica by Martin’s International and Associates Directors: Ephraim Martin- Chairman, Clifton Edwards and Austin McBean; along with several entertainers, nominees and media celebrities, such as: Tanto Metro, Cecile, Macka Diamond, Winford Williams, Daville, Tarrus Riley, Tessanne Chin and Loyal Hayley and others.

More than one hundred and fifty entertainers and music industry professionals were nominated and selected for special awards by music industry experts through out the globe. Among the leading nominees for 2006 are: Sean Paul and Buju Banton with nine (9) nominations each. Baby Cham six (6); Gyptian, Tanya Stephenson and new sound selector turn perform Tony Matterhorn with five (5) each.

The Queen of worldwide talk show Oprah Winfrey and International Pop/Rock Star Bono will be given the Marcus Garvey Humanitarian Award for their contributions to humanity worldwide, especially in countries like Africa. Inductees to the IRAWMA Hall of Fame will be Boris Gardner and B.B. Seaton & the Gaylads.

Special Martin’s International and Associates Award of Honor will be given to: King Jammy’s Edmond “Bunny” Lee, Ed Robinson (E2 Recordings) and Don One Records. Special Producer’s Respect Award will be given to Dougie Fresh, Gregory Isaacs and Half Pint. Special Award of Appreciation will be awarded to the following: Winston “Niney” Holiness, Jerome Hamilton, WBLS 107.5 FM with Dahved Levy, Lorna Wainwright- Tuff Gong, Bobby Culture and Friends of Reggae- Dave Clark.

Other nominees include : Capleton, Damian Marley, Beenie Man, Luciano, Beres Hammond, Freddy McGregor, Daville, Richie Spice, Dean Fraser, Chuck Fenda, Marcia Griffiths, Cecile, Alaine, Jah Cure and Bounty Killa. Plus: Sly and Robbie, Vybz Kartel, Akon, Wyclef Jean, Sizzla, Macka Diamond, Machel Mantano, Rhianna, Daddy Yankee, Youssou N’Dour, Toots and the Maytels, Rupee, Third World, Burning Spear, Tarrus Riley, Daville, Malachi Smith, Voicemail, Mutabaruka and Dean Fraser, among others.

Visit to see and/or vote on all the nominees for 2006. Also, please see attached below/attached.

Tickets for this star-studded, made-for-television event are now on sale at the Apollo Theater box office (212) 531-5305 and thru, 212/307-7171 and all Ticketmaster outlets! VIP Diamond box tickets are available only from Martin’s International and Associates 877/9-REGGAE (973-4423). Prices are: General Admission $55, VIP Gold $99, VIP Platinum $125, VIP Diamond Box $1000/seat or $5000/Box for five persons.

The International Reggae and World Music Awards which annually honors the best in reggae and world beat music at the global level, has been expanded in terms of organizers, and is produced by Martin’s International and Associates, LLC whose directors include : Ephraim Martin, Clifton Edwards, Austin McBean and Carlton Muldrow.

Each year, the experts in the reggae and world music industry select the nominees for IRAWMA, after which reggae and world music fans and the general public then vote for the winners. To participate in the process and help to select the winners in the various categories, you may vote online,,, or mail in your ballot to: IRAWMA-c/o: Martin’s International and Associates, P.O. Box 5836, Chicago, Illinois 60680. Ballots are available in various newspapers, restaurants and record stores. Ballots may be requested by sending your request by e-mail to: [email protected], according to Awards organizer, Ephraim Martin.

Among the sponsors, including category sponsors are: C. Sea Perkins and Cyperwize Powered by Tunguska Blast; Sam Ash Music Company, Dennis Shipping, Caribbean Foods Delights; CVM TV, Sams, Linkup Media for Linkup Radio (WVIP-93.5), Jam Rock Magazine, Plush TV and Caribbean Link Newspaper; Dahved Levy Rockin You -WBLS 107.5 Caribbean Fever, Irie Jam Media; Trans Continental Express Shipping, Bennett/World Class Limo, Atlas Vacation, Ruff Stuff Studio, Liberty Star Newspaper.

For general info, to participate as a sponsor/category sponsor, or to advertise in Awards magazine, call 877/9-REGGAE (973-4423), 312/427-0266, 718-398-2833 or visit website at E-mail addresses are [email protected] & [email protected].