Dancehll/Hip Hop Sensation Sean Paul Wins Six Trophies At 26th Int’l Reggae & World Music Awards Apollo Theater In New York – May 5, 2007

Dancehall senasation Sean Paul picked up a record six awards during the 26th International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA), held at the world famous Apollo Theater located at 253 West 125 Street on Saturday, May 5th. Paul’s awards include : Bob Marley Award for Entertainer of the Year; Recording Artist of the Year; Best Song for “Temperature”; Most Popular Hip Hop Entertainer and Songwriter of the Year. Reggae superstar Luciano won Best Male Vocalist and Most Cultural Entertainer awards. The Marley brothers Damian won the Selassie I Award for Spiritual Service through Music and the Outstanding Contribution to World Music award went to Ziggy Marley.

Hip Hop legend Doug E. Fresh and Soca sensation Machel Montano HD hosted the 26th International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA), while GT Taylor and Richie B hosted the VIP pre-awards reception. The Nab Tri International African Dancers entertained the crowd with vibrant movements and colorful traditional attire.

Top nominees walking the red carpet included Sean Paul, Doug E. Fresh, Machel Montano, Luciano, Macka Diamond, Ce’Cile, Lady G, Gregory Isaacs, Tarrus Riley, Leon & The Peoples, Half Pint, B.B. Seaton & the Gaylads, Tony Matterhorn, Alaine, Dean Fraser, Gyptian, Da’Ville, Ruff Stuff, Katalys Crew, Mutabaruka, Ed Robinson, Winsome Benjamin, among others.

More than 150 entertainers and music industry professionals were nominated for the coveted IRAWMA, while others have been selected for special awards by music industry experts across the globe. Oprah Winfrey and International Pop/Rock Star Bono were given the Marcus Garvey Humanitarian Award. Boris Gardner and B.B. Seaton & the Gaylads were inducted into the IRAWMA Hall of Fame.

Special Martin’s International and Associates Award of Honor was given to: Edmond “Bunny” Lee (King Jammy’s), Ed Robinson (E2 Recordings) and Don One Records. Special Producer’s Respect Award was given to: Doug E. Fresh, Gregory Isaacs and Half Pint. Special Award of Appreciation was awarded to: Winston “Niney” Holiness, Jerome Hamilton, Dahved Levy(WBLS 107.5 FM), Lorna Wainwright (Tuff Gong), Bobby (Culture Jam WVIP 93.5FM), and Dave Clark (Friends of Reggae).

Martin’s International and Associates welcomed American Airlines on board as the official travel carrier to the 26th IRAWMA and the Marriott Hotel(La Guardia) as the official hotel. For this year’s event Martin’s Inter-Culture joined forces with individual partners: Austin McBean, Clifton Edwards and Carlton Muldrew as Martin’s International & Associates, LLC to produce the IRAWMA Awards.

The 26th IRAWMA was made possible through generous contributions from the following sponsors: American Airlines (AA), Strength of Nature PROFECTIV, Uptown Juice Bar, Café Veg, Gleaner/Star Newspaper, DJ Steve’s Tax Services, Linkup Media for Linkup Radio (WVIP-93.5), Jam Rock Magazine, Plush TV and Caribbean Link Newspaper; Dahved Levy’s Rockin’ You and Caribbean Fever (WBLS 107.5), Irie Jam Media; Trans Continental Express Shippers, The Eye Collection Clothing Co., Jamroppo, Atlas Vacation, Bennett/World Class Limo, A D. Wilshire Tuxedo Rental & Limo Service, C. Sea Perkins and Cyberwize Powered by Tunguska Blast; Sam Ash Music Company, Dennis Shipping, Caribbean Food Delights; CVM TV,, tlas Vacation, Ruff Stuff Studio, Liberty Star Newspaper, Keeling Records, Spencer Financial Services, Golden Krust, Moodie’s Records and Liberty Star Newspaper.

For general info, to participate as a sponsor or to advertise in the annual Awards magazine, call 877/9-REGGAE (973-4423), 312/427-0266, 718-398-2833 or visit our website at