Music Icons To Judge 2008 International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20), Chaka Khan, Ray Davies (The Kinks), Loretta Lynn, Tom Waits, T-Pain, Robert Smith (The Cure), John Mayall, and Many More Celebrities Team Up With High-Profile Music Industry Executives To Choose 2008 ISC Winners

June 10, 2008 – The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is now accepting entries for the 2008 competition. More than $150,000 in cash and prizes will be shared among the 62 winners, including an overall Grand Prize of $25,000 (US) cash and $20,000 in prizes. This year’s competition includes many new celebrity and industry judges and the inclusion of a Music Video category.

Go to to enter songs via mail or online.

Since its inception, ISC is renowned for having the most prestigious judging panel of any songwriting competition in the world. Entering ISC offers songwriters and musicians an unprecedented opportunity to have their songs heard by top celebrity recording artists and influential music industry executives.

Robert Smith, lead singer of The Cure and an ISC judge for the past three years, says, “I am astounded at the quality and range of abilities – the originality, honesty, and depth of so many of the words, the charm, vivacity, and catchiness of the tunes, and the often staggering energy, skill, and intensity of the performances – the talent has left me at times breathless!”

Monte Lipman, President of Universal Records, talks about his role as an ISC judge: “We’re always been impressed with the talented songwriters who participate in the ISC. This is a great A&R source to find new artists.”

The list of 2008 ISC judges include :

Recording Artists
Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20); Chaka Khan; Tom Waits; KT Tunstall; Robert Smith (The Cure); Loretta Lynn; Neil Finn (Crowded House); Buckcherry; T-Pain; James Cotton; Jerry Lee Lewis; Craig Morgan; Ray Davies (The Kinks); Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Michael W. Smith; Chris Hillman (The Byrds); John Scofield; Mario; Black Francis (The Pixies); Youssou N’Dour; John Mayall; DJ Tiësto; “Weird Al” Yankovic; and Paul Van Dyk

Music Industry Executives
Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Nick Burgess (Head of A&R, Virgin Records UK); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP of A&R, Latin America Sony BMG and President, Discos 605); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Amy Doyle (Sr. VP of Music and Talent, MTV); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, Lost Highway); Jon Pikus (Director of A&R, MySpace Records); Mitchell Cohen (VP of A&R, Verve Music Group); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Peter Strickland (Senior VP, Jack Records/Warner Bros.); Steve Lillywhite (Producer – credits include U2, The Rolling Stones, Morrissey, Peter Gabriel, and more); Douglas C. Cohn (Sr. VP, Music Marketing & Talent, Nickelodeon); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Betty Pino (DJ, WAMR Miami); Paul Majors (CEO/Founder Majors Music); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music for Little People); and Dr. Demento (Radio Host of The Dr. Demento Show).

ISC welcomes original songs from musicians, artists, and songwriters at every level from amateur to professional. Entrants may submit songs in any of the following categories: Pop/Top 40, AAA (Adult Album Alternative), Rock, Country, Americana, R&B/Hip-Hop, Blues, Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Jazz, Gospel/Christian, Latin Music, Instrumental, Dance/Electronica, Comedy/Novelty, World Music, Children’s Music, Lyrics Only, Teen, Performance, and Music Video.

Please visit for an entry form or more details.