• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Jamaica Assigned To Group B In 2011 FIBA Americas Championship

Spread the love

Jamaica is one of ten countries that will compete at the 2011 FIBA Americas Championship for Women to be held from September 24th to October 1st in Neiva, Colombia.   

At the May 5th drawing held in the tournament’s host city, Jamaica was selected to compete in Group B along with Canada, Brazil, Mexico, and Paraguay.  The winner qualifies for the 2012 World Olympic Games in London, England.  Second through fourth place teams will gain another attempt at the 2012 FIBA World Championship.  Location to be announced  at a later date.

By virtue of their second place finish at the 2010 Centrobasket for Women held in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, Jamaica remains the only English speaking country ever to represent the Central American and Caribbean Zone in the FIBA Americas championship.  In 2007 the team finished in eight place in their first appearance at the Valdivia, Chile hosted tournament.  

Here are the final results of the drawing, as well as Jamaica’s competition schedule:


Group A: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Puerto Rico,
Group B: Brazil, Canada, Jamaica, Mexico, Paraguay


Date and Opponent:

  • 24 September: Day 1 – Bye
  • 25 September: Day 2 – vs. Mexico
  • 26 September: Day 3 – vs. Brazil   (Defending Champs)
  • 27 September: Day 4 – vs. Paraguay
  • 28 September: Day 5 – vs. Canada
  • 29 September: Day 6 – No Games


  • 30 September: Day 7 – Semi Finals

Winner Group A vs. Second Group B

Winner Group B vs. Second Group A

1 October: Day 8 – Finals

Loser Semi Final 1 vs. Loser Semi Final 2

Winner Semi Final 1 vs. Winner Semi Final 2

*Game times and order will be announced at a later date.

Rate this post

Spread the love
Written by
View all articles
Cannot call API for app 591315618393932 on behalf of user 10157562959428589
Written by jamarch