• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Jamaican Debut Novelist Makes 2015 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Longlist

Spread the love

Debut novelist A-dZiko Simba Gegele has joined some to the world’s most celebrated novelists on the 2015 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Longlist. All Over Again (Blouse and Skirt Books, 2013) is among the list of 142 books from 39 countries that will vie for the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards comes with a €100,000.00 cash prize. The list originates from nominations made from 114 libraries across the world. All Over Again is among the 29 debut novels on the longlist which also includes 49 titles in translation.

Books contending for for the 2015 Award include those who have already won some of the literary world’s top prizes. These include The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and The Good Lord Bird by James McBride, winner of the 2013 National Book Award. All Over Again is the winner of the 2014 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature.

Previous winners of the awards includes The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vásquez, translated from Spanish by Anne McLean (2014), City of Bohane by Kevin Barry (2013), Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor (2012) and  Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (2011).

The 20015 panel of judges comprises Irish novelist Christine Dwyer Hickey, winner of the Irish Novel of the Year 2012 for The Cold Eye of Heaven; Valentine Cunningham (British) Professor of English Language and Literature at Oxford University; Daniel Hahn (British) award winning translator, writer and editor, Chair of the Society of Authors; Kate Pullinger (Canadian) winner of The Governor General’s Award for Fiction and Professor of Creative Writing and Digital Media at Bath Spa University;Jordi Soler (Mexican/Spanish) author of books of poems, story collections, and ten novels translated  into several languages and a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines in Spain and Mexico. The non-voting Chairperson is Eugene R. Sullivan (USA).

The longlist was recently announced in Dublin by Lord Mayor of Dublin, Christy Burke, Patron of the Award, at a ceremony in The Dublin City Library & Archive. The shortlist will be announced April 15, 2015 and the winner June 17, 2015.

Spread the love
Written by
View all articles
Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .
Written by jamarch