• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Julian Taylor Band: Tech Noir Breaks into TV

Spread the love

The JULIAN TAYLOR BAND has officially released their already widely-acclaimed debut CD TECH NOIR,  and the results have been massive. With the recent addition of the track “Do You Remember” in an episode of NBC and eOne’s hit TV show Haven, and “Never Gonna Give You Up” in the CBS drama Elementary starring Lucy Lui, plus mainstream radio charting and CBC airplay, the classic-meets-innovative, soulful sounds of JTB are getting huge exposure. The band continuously gigs and can be seen live at the R.O.M. on Friday, November 7 @ 8 pm with no cover, and at Ottawa’s Zaphod Beeblebrox on Saturday, November 8 @ 8 pm.  

Toronto-based, award-winning singer-songwriter Julian Taylor and his band have experienced a whirlwind of activity surrounding their new album TECH NOIR. The first single “Never Gonna Give You Up” was nominated as a semi-finalist in the International Songwriting Competition and the video blew up on YouTube with more than 300,000 views. Following the success of that track, the newer single “Heatwave” also spent the summer at the top of the Canadian Alt Rock charts. CBC Here and Now chose the track “You Say” as their recent “Song of the Week” pick, rave reviews have been steadily pouring in and now popular TV shows have been added to the album’s successes. “Never Gonna Give You Up” was included in the CBS drama Elementary with high profile actress Lucy Lui plus the track “Do You Remember” has been used in an episode of NBC and eOne’s hit TV show Haven with Emily Rose.
A truly gifted performer, Taylor has a distinct delivery that’s raw and emotional. The sound on TECH NOIR is a culmination of every musical genre that has influenced him throughout his life, and his most recent re-incarnation sees him moving towards the kind of music that inspired him as a child. Incredibly energetic in their live performances, the band’s new soul-driven pop-rock is inspired by the likes of Lenny Kravitz, Stevie Wonder and Bill Withers whose influences are reflected on TECH NOIR.
The band is currently comprised of a group of formidable musicians – Julian Taylor (vocals and guitar), Jeremy Elliott (drums), Steve Pelletier (bass) and David Engle (keys). In addition, the band’s previous member and bass player, Ben Spivak, – who now plays with the wildly successful “Magic” – has several song co-writes and also plays on TECH NOIR.
The Julian Taylor Band would like to thank FACTOR for their generous support in making the new album. Julian also believes in giving back and spends much of his time and efforts running a “Young Undiscovered Artist Series” every month with the General Manager of NXNE, that showcases the talents of high school kids. He has also conducted several music workshops with the kids of Camp Ooch, (a camp for children living with cancer).

Rate this post

Spread the love
Written by
View all articles
Cannot call API for app 591315618393932 on behalf of user 10157562959428589
Written by jamarch