• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events
Major Lazer's Walshy Fire to release debut solo album 'ABENG' on June 7th

Major Lazer’s Walshy Fire to release debut solo album ‘ABENG’ on June 7th

Spread the love

Walshy Fire has used his platform as a member of Major Lazer and as a producer and international DJ to gather artists from Africa and the Caribbean for ABENG, a first-of-its-kind album bridging the two regions, out June 7th on Mad Decent.The project was inspired by the Jamaican-born, Miami-based DJ/producer’s roots in the Caribbean dancehall scene, and his recent travels across Africa. The title, ABENG, refers to a horn instrument brought over from Ghana to Jamaica, used by slaves to communicate across long distances.
Major Lazer's Walshy Fire to release debut solo album 'ABENG' on June 7th
As the MC for Major Lazer and a globe-traveling DJ, Walshy has regularly toured Africa over the last five years — travels which have allowed him to fulfill his dream of bridging the divide between the regions and the broader African Diaspora. ABENG brings together some of the biggest names in Afrobeats/Afropop with top reggae, dancehall and soca artists from the Caribbean for unique pairings like the lead single “No Negative Vibes” featuring Runtown (Nigeria) and Alkaline (Jamaica), and a remix of Walshy’s debut single, “Bend Down Pause” featuring Wizkid (Nigeria), Runtown and Machel Montano (Trinidad).

“No Negative Vibes” is available today, May 17, through all DSPs. The video for the single premiered exclusively today via THE FADER.


Other artists featured on ABENG include Mr. Eazi (Nigeria), Ice Prince (Nigeria), Demarco (Jamaica), Masicka (Jamaica), Adekunle Gold (Nigeria), Nailah Blackman (Trinidad), Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania), Stonebwoy (Nigeria), Timeka Marshall (Guyana), Bunji Garlin (Trinidad), Ketchup (Nigeria), Shizzi (Nigeria), Efya (Ghana), WurlD (USA/Nigeria) and Christopher Martin (Jamaica).

“The intention is to make the Caribbean and Africa have a conversation that is louder, and in the same studio or the same stage, at the same time,” Walshy says.


01. Call Me (feat. Mr Eazi & Kranium)
02. Round Of Applause (feat.Ice Prince & Demarco)
03. No Negative Vibes (feat. Alkaline & Runtown)
04. Outside (feat. Adekunle Gold & Nailah Blackman)
05. Xcellent (feat. Ice Prince & Masicka)
06. Amazing (feat. Stonebwoy & Timeka Marshall)
07. African Lady (feat. Ice Prince, Jay Newton, & Vanessa Mdee)
08. No Laziness (feat. Ketchup & Bunji Garlin)
09. Show You Off (feat. WurlD & Shizzi)
10. Until The Dawn (feat. Efya & Christopher Martin) [Remix] 11. Bend Down Pause (feat. Wizkid, Runtown & Machel Montano) [Remix]


Walshy Fire is an international DJ and producer; ambassador for Caribbean music and culture; and one-third of Diplo’s massively-influential, reggae/dancehall-inspired EDM outfit, Major Lazer. While performing on some of the world’s largest stages and contributing production to Major Lazer’s albums, he has used his platform to shed light on rising talents within the Caribbean, helping launch the careers of Chronixx, Jesse Royal and, most recently, Koffee, whose breakout hits “Toast” and “Throne” he  co-produced. In 2014, Vice tapped him to host Season 2 of its Noisey Jamaica documentary series, exploring dancehall and the “reggae revival” movement then taking the island by storm. When not touring with Major Lazer, Walshy balances his time with solo DJ events around the globe, including his signature Rum & Bass concept.

Rate this post

Spread the love
Written by
Staff Writer
View all articles
Unsupported get request. Object with ID '17841401526373257' does not exist, cannot be loaded due to missing permissions, or does not support this operation. Please read the Graph API documentation at https://developers.facebook.com/docs/graph-api
Written by Staff Writer