Maritime Anchor Awards Program Clinches Major Corporate Sponsors

The Anchor Awards, sponsored by the American Caribbean Maritime Foundation (ACMF), upcoming this fall in New York, receives support from major corporations. They are Seafreight Lines Ltd (A Crowley Company), Royal Caribbean International, Integra Marine & Freight Services, and Caribbean diaspora business Dennis Shipping.

Maritime Anchor Awards Program Clinches Major Corporate Sponsors

With two months to go before the event on October 18, ACMF president and executive director is delighted and appreciative of the significant and timely support it has received, saying, “That these leading companies have come on board, is a confirmation of the importance of the ACMF mission and the work we have been able to accomplish on behalf of our beneficiary, the Caribbean Maritime University (CMU) and its students. We can’t thank them enough”, says Dr. Geneive Brown Metzger, ACMF president and executive director.

Presenting Sponsor, Royal Caribbean, commitment of $100,000 and Seafreight’s $150,000, along with that of the other sponsors, will be a game changer for dozens of Caribbean Maritime University students who will be able to fulfill their dreams to become maritime professionals. The ACMF has already contributed to the construction of a much needed lecture theater at the CMU, and has also funded the Dr. Fritz Pinnock Scholarship, which recognizes the vigorous, strategic leadership and commitment of the CMU’s president to his students and to the broader maritime sector.

The Anchor Awards will be held at the historic New York Yacht Club in Manhattan on Thursday, October 18, 2018 under the Patronage of Jamaica’s Prime Minister, The Most Honorable Andrew Holness. H.E. Bahamian Ambassador to the U.S. Sidney Collie is serving as the Caribbean Chair.

The Anchor Awards acknowledges individuals and the companies they represent who have played a vital role in the growth and development of the maritime industry in the Caribbean. The 2018 honorees are Michael Bayley, President and Chief Executive Officer of Royal Caribbean International; Roland Malins-Smith, Founder and Retired President of Seafreight Line Ltd; and Rick Murrell, SVP Managing Director, Saltchuk Resources and Chairman Tropical Shipping. Royal Caribbean International is the Presenting Sponsor.

Gala Chair, Vincent DeOrchis, Esq., partner in the U.S. maritime law practice, Montgomery McCracken, Walker and Rhoads, and ACMF board members, says “Our thanks to the sponsors for their generous support. The ACMF board is committed to its goal of transforming the lives of talented and deserving youth in the Caribbean. These young people are the future of the maritime industry in the region, and we acknowledge our sponsors as vital partners in this endeavor”.


The ACMF is a U.S. 501(c)3 non-profit tax-exempt organization based in New York that funds scholarships, programs and facilities at the Caribbean Maritime Univesity (CMU). The ACMF is the only entity dedicated to this mission. So far, in 2018, the ACMF donated $112,000 for scholarships and towards the building of a lecture theatre currently under construction at the CMU. The ACMF was founded by former Consul General in New York, Dr. Geneive Brown Metzger, in 2015. Its board of directors comprises maritime attorneys and professionals, educators, and philanthropists.

For information about how to sponsor the Anchor Awards, advertise in the magazine, or support the auction, please email executivedirector@acmfdnorg or go to the ACMF website