• Search
    Jamaicans.com News and Events

Portmore Empire dominates EME Dancehall Nominations

Spread the love

Conquering 2009 with seven local number one singles, and three international hit singles, Adidjahiem Records CEO Dancehall deejay Adidja ‘Vybz Kartel’ Palmer has already set out on a mission to take over the New Year, racking up 8 nominations in 6 categories at the 2010 Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards. Adidjahiem artists Blak Ryno, Jah Vinci, Merital, Indu, Gaza Kim, and super producer Ainsley ‘Notnice’ Morris-members of the Kartel-led Portmore Empire-have collectively received 9 nominations in 6 categories.

Kartel, crowned DJ of the Year and Song Writer/Lyricist of the Year at the last year’s EME Awards, dominated the local airwaves in 2009 with over a dozen top-ten singles, including Jamaica Music Countdown chart-toppers “Last Man Standing,” “Mama,” “Romping Shop,” “Completely,” “Mind Pon Mi Money,” “Million by a Morning,” and “Love Dem.”  He earned international recognition with the Billboard-charting “Romping Shop,” “Mind Pon Mi Money,” and “Versatility” which were all in regular rotation on mainstream stations throughout the Caribbean and North America. For the 2010 EMEs, Vybz Kartel’s nominations include :

DJ of the Year -Male
Song of the Year – Dancehall  (2 nominations  for “Completely” and “Mind Pon Mi Money”
Recording Artist of the Year
Song Writer/Lyricist of the Year
Collaboration of the Year – Dancehall (2 nominations for “Completely” featuring Indu, and “Versatility” featuring Indu)
International Artist of the Year (for the single “Romping Shop” featuring Spice)

Dancehall deejay Blak Ryno and singer/singjay Jah Vinci, both signed to Adidjahiem Records in 2007, have been hailed as two of the most explosive new talents in Dancehall, spewing out a series of street bangers and underground favorites both locally and worldwide. Ryno hit the local charts in 2009 with “Dollar Sign,” while Jah Vinci scored a charted hit with “Watch Your Friends.”  For the 2010 EME Awards, both have been nominated for Breakthrough Artist of the Year, and Most Improved Artist.

Portmore Empire newbies Indu, Gaza Kim, and Merital have been riding high with a slew of hit singles including Indu’s chart-topping duets with Vybz Kartel, Gaza Kim’s “Amen,” “Teenage Pregnancy” featuring Vybz Kartel, and “Bills,” while Merital hit the top ten with “My Money (Ha Ha).” Both Indu and Gaza Kim have been nominated for Best New Artist – Female. Indu has been nominated twice with Vybz Kartel for Collaboration of the Year (“Completely” and “Versatility”). Merital has been nominated for Best New Artist – Male, and Duo/Group of the Year.

Empire producer Ainsley ‘Notnice’ Morris, the man responsible for the It Nuh Work Suh, Unknown Number, Birthday, Boxing Day, School Yard, Funeral Ceremony, Story Tella, Remand, and Grades Riddims (Rhythms) has been nominated for Producer of the Year – Dancehall.

“The Empire is pleased over the nominations and knows that it is well deserved,” states Vybz Kartel.  “Last year we worked really hard, and the voters acknowledged that the Empire ran ’09. Thanks to the fans for voting for us and we promise not to let them down in 2010.”

Spread the love
Written by
View all articles
Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .
Written by jamarch